1.) Are there exact data available for the high etch resistance of ma-P 1200 resists?

The resists of the ma-P 1200 series exhibit a good etch resistance. E.g. ma-P 1200 gives very good results in dry etching (as with CF4 or high density SF6/O2 plasma).
The etch rates of the resists strongly depend on the etching conditions. The etching equipment has an influence, the amount of open wafer surface to be etched, the etch gas composition and all other parameters such as pressure, temperature or voltage. 
ma-P 1200 resists show a good thermal stability. That enables the thermal stabilisation of the resists for the subsequent plasma etching. E.g. a hardbake is recommendable at 120°C in an oven (with a temperature ramp to minimize the pattern rounding). For that also a stronger prebake is necessary. In case of a 7.5µm thick film of ma-P 1275 that would be a prebake at 110°C for 5 - 10 min on a hotplate. 
We cannot deliver any more detailed data. This is nearly impossible since etching conditions can differ very much from lab to lab. 

2.) How can I avoid bubbles in the resist film?

Several reasons for the formation of bubbles in the resist are possible. 
Big bubbles could arise if the resist was shaken too much, or if the resist has undergone a bigger temperature change. They should disappear when the resist can "relax" a while (i.e. when the bottle is kept under constant climatic conditions in the cleanroom for some time). This applies mainly for resists of a higher viscosity.
Bubbles occurring during the prebake of thick resist films are caused by the solvent evaporation. It is important to maintain a certain relaxation time between spin-coating and prebake to avoid this. Only high viscosity resists show this tendency.
Smaller bubbles in the exposed area could have several reasons. Adjusting the respective process condition prevents the bubble formation:

  • The resist film isn´t dry enough, i.e. it wasn´t sufficiently softbaked (= prebaked).
  • The exposure dose was much too high. This is connected with a distinctly decreased developing time compared to the one at standard processing conditions.
  • c) Too much primer was used (HMDS on Si and SiO2).
  • d) The cleanroom conditions were out of the tolerances. Especially a too high humidity can cause bubble formation.

3.) Is ma-P 1200 resistant to strong acids?

In general ma-P 1200 positive photoresists withstand strong acids very well. Tests have shown that 2.5 µm thick ma-P 1225 and 7.5 µm thick ma-P 1275, both processed under standard conditions, resist concentrated HCl at 45…50 °C for at least 10 minutes without any problems. No erosion of the resist film is observed.
Concentrated HF is challenging for all photoresists (cf. QUESTION 4).
Also strongly oxidising acids can cause some problems. The resist stability depends on the temperature and composition of the etchant in such cases.

4.) Can I use ma-P 1200 resists as etch mask for HF glass etching?

HF etching is a very demanding. HF doesn´t attack the resist. But it can diffuse under the photoresist and lift it from below causing bad adhesion of the resist on the substrate. This is why a film thickness as high as possible should be chosen, and the resist should be hardened (stronger prebake + hardbake). Nevertheless it depends strongly on the HF concentration and the etch time to what extend the photoresist sustains the etching.
In the literature it is mentioned that ma-P 1200 is suitable for etching with buffered HF [*]. 

[*] A. Pozzato, S. Dal Zilio, G. Fois, D. Vendramin, G. Mistura, M. Belotti, Y. Chen, M. Natali, Microelectronic Eng. 83 (2006), 884-888, doi:10.1016/j.mee.2006.01.012

5.) Can I use positive photoresists for lift-off processes?

For lift-off processes a bi-layer resist system can be applied. E.g. LOR (a not photosensitive polymer provided by MicroChem Corp. for various film thicknesses) can be used as bottom layer. In a second step a positive resist e.g. from the ma-P 1200 series is applied as top layer. During the aqueous-alkaline development of the exposed areas of the positive resist film also the LOR film underneath is dissolved. The undercut profile in the bottom layer is adjusted by varying the development time and the prebake conditions for the LOR layer.
For some applications you can do the lift-off with a single-layer resist which does not give an undercut profile. E.g. the use of ma-P 1200 resist without an additional bottom layer would be sufficient - preferably with a somewhat higher film thickness to give sidewalls that can be reached by the stripper. The quality of the edges of the deposited metal layer is slightly worse than in a bi-layer process in this case.
 

6.) Is there a developer that doesn´t corrode Al and Al containing substrates, respectively? 

We recommend to apply “Developer Concentrate” by DOW Electronic Materials for developing resists of the ma-P 1200 series on Al and Al containing substrates. You can purchase the developer from our company. The developer is based on metasilicate which practically doesn´t corrode Al.

Examples of ma-P 1200 applications in the literature:

[1]   W. Schrott, M. Svoboda, Z. Slouka, D. Šnita, Metal electrodes in plastic microfluidic systems, Microelectronic Engineering, 86 (2009), 1340-1342; 
doi: 10.1016/j.mee.2009.01.001
ma-P 1275 is used as mould for electroplating Au and Cu structures to be used in plastic microfluidic systems.

[2]   P.W. Leech, G.K. Reeves, A.S. Holland, Reactive ion etching of TiN, TiAlN, CrN and TiCN Films in CF4/O2 and CHF3/O2 Plasmas, Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc. 890 (2006), 0890-Y08-13.1-6;doi: 10.1557/PROC-0890-Y08-13
ma-P 1205 is used as etch mask for plasma etching in the manufacture of stamps for imprint lithography.

[3]   G. Kaltsas, A. Petropoulos, K. Tsougeni, D. N. Pagonis, T. Speliotis, E. Gogolides, A. G. Nassiopoulou, A novel microfabrication technology on organic substrates - Application to a thermal flow sensor, Journal of Physics: Conference Series 92 (2007) 012046; doi:10.1088/1742-6596/92/1/012046
ma-P 1275 is used in a lift-off process with Pt deposition in the manufacture of a thermal flow sensor.

[4]   J.-C. Galas, D. Bartolo, V. Studer, Active connectors for microfluidic drops on demand, New J. Phys. 11 (2009) 075027; 
doi:10.1088/1367-2630/11/7/075027
After reflow ma-P 1275HV is used as mask for moulding PDMS in the fabrication of active microfluidic connectors.

1.) Gibt es exakte Daten zur hohen Ätzresistenz der ma-P 1200 – Resiste?

Die ma-P 1200 – Resiste weisen eine hohe Ätzresistenz auf. So ergibt ma-P 1200 z.B. gute Resultate beim Trockenätzen (u.a. mit CF4 oder Hochdichte-Plasma SF6/O2).
Die Ätzraten der Resiste hängen stark von den Ätzbedingungen ab. Die Ätzanlage hat einen Einfluss, die zu ätzende offene Waferfläche, die Ätzgaszusammensetzung und andere Parameter wie z.B. Druck, Temperatur oder die Spannung.
ma-P 1200 – Resiste haben eine gute thermische Stabilität. Dies ermöglicht eine weitere thermische Stabilisierung der Resiste vor dem anschließenden Plasmaätzen. So ist z.B. ein Hardbake bei 120 °C im Ofen günstig (mit Temperaturrampe, um Strukturverrundungen zu minimieren), wozu vorher auch ein stärkerer Prebake nötig ist. Im Falle einer 7,5 µm dicken ma-P 1275 – Schicht wäre das z.B. ein Prebake bei 110 °C für 5 – 10 min auf der Hotplate.
Wir können keine genaueren Zahlenwerte zur Ätzrate angeben. Dies ist nahezu unmöglich, da die Ätzbedingungen von Labor zu Labor unterschiedlich sein können.

2.) Wie kann ich Bläschen in der Resistschicht vermeiden?

Blasenbildung im Resist kann verschiedene Ursachen haben.

Vor allem bei höherviskosen Resisten können größere Blasen entstehen, wenn der Resist zu sehr geschüttelt wurde oder größeren Temperaturschwankungen ausgesetzt war. Die Blasen verschwinden, wenn der Resist eine Weile ruht (z.B. wenn die Flasche einige Zeit im Reinraum unter konstanten klimatischen Bedingungen aufbewahrt wird).
Blasen, die während des Prebakes von dicken Resistschichten auftreten, werden durch das Verdunsten des Lösungsmittels verursacht. Dies wird wiederum nur bei hochviskosen Resisten beobachtet. Es ist wichtig, in diesem Fall eine bestimmte Relaxationszeit zwischen der Schleuderbeschichtung und dem Prebake einzuhalten, um die Entstehung von Blasen zu verhindern.
Verschiedene Ursachen sind möglich für kleinere Bläschen in den belichteten Arealen. Die Regulierung der jeweiligen Prozessbedingung verhindert die Bläschenbildung:

  • Die Resistschicht ist nicht trocken genug, d.h. der Prebake (= Softbake) war nicht ausreichend.
  • Die Belichtungsdosis war viel zu hoch. Dies ist verbunden mit einer gegenüber den Standardprozessbedingungen deutlich verringerten Entwicklungszeit.
  • Es wurde zu viel Primer verwendet (HMDS auf Si und SiO2).
  • Die Reinraumbedingungen lagen außerhalb der Toleranz. Insbesondere eine zu hohe Luftfeuchte kann die Bildung von Bläschen verursachen.

3.) Ist ma-P 1200 starken Säuren gegenüber stabil?

Generell halten ma-P 1200 – Resiste starken Säuren sehr gut stand. In Untersuchungen wurde z.B. gezeigt, dass 2,5 µm dicke ma-P 1225 und 7,5 µm dicke ma-P 1275 - Schichten, beide unter Standardbedingungen verarbeitet, konzentrierte HCL bei 45…50 °C mindestens 10 min problemlos aushalten. Es wurde kein Angriff an der Resistoberfläche beobachtet.
Konzentrierte HF ist jedoch schwierig für alle Photoresiste (vgl. Frage 4).
Auch stark oxidierende Säuren können Probleme verursachen. Die Resiststabilität hängt in diesen Fällen von der Temperatur und der Zusammensetzung des Ätzmittels ab.

4.) Kann ich ma-P 1200 – Resiste als Maske für das HF-Glasätzen anwenden?

Das HF-Ätzen ist sehr anspruchsvoll. HF greift den Resist nicht an. Aber es kann unter den Resist diffundieren und ihn von unten abheben, was eine schlechte Haftung auf dem Substrat verursacht. Darum sollte eine so hohe Schichtdicke wie möglich gewählt werden. Und der Resist sollte stabilisiert werden (stärkerer Prebake und Hardbake). Trotzdem hängt es stark von der HF-Konzentration und der Ätzzeit ab, wie weit der Photoresist dem Ätzen standhält.
In der Literatur ist erwähnt, dass ma-P 1200 für das Ätzen mit gepufferter HF geeignet ist [*].

[*] A. Pozzato, S. Dal Zilio, G. Fois, D. Vendramin, G. Mistura, M. Belotti, Y. Chen, M. Natali, Microelectronic Eng. 83 (2006), 884-888, doi:10.1016/j.mee.2006.01.012

5.) Kann ich Positivresiste für Lift-off-Prozesse verwenden?

Für Lift-off-Prozesse kann ein Zweischichtsystem angewendet werden. LOR (ein nicht lichtempfindliches Polymer, das von MicroChem Corp. für verschiedene Schichtdicken angeboten wird) kann z.B. als untere Schicht eingesetzt werden. In einem zweiten Schritt wird ein Positivresist, z.B. aus der ma-P 1200 – Serie, als obere Schicht aufgebracht. Während der wässrig-alkalischen Entwicklung werden die belichteten Areale der Positivresistschicht aufgegelöst und ebenso die LOR-Schicht darunter. Das unterschnittene Profil in der unteren Schicht wird durch Variation der Entwicklungszeit und der Prebakebedingungen der LOR-Schicht eingestellt. 
Für einige Anwendungen kann der Lift-off mit einem Einschicht-Resist, der kein unterschnittenes Profil ergibt, durchgeführt werden. So wäre z.B. die Verwendung von ma-P 1200 – Resist ohne zusätzliche Unterschicht ausreichend – vorzugsweise in etwas höherer Schichtdicke, um dem Stripper den Angriff an den Resist-Seitenwänden zu ermöglichen. In diesem Fall ist die Qualität der Ränder des abgeschiedenen Metalls geringfügig schlechter als in einem Zweischichtprozess.

6.) Gibt es einen Entwickler, der Al und Al-haltige Substrate nicht angreift?

Wir empfehlen, „Developer Concentrate” von DOW Electronic Materials für die Entwicklung von Resisten der ma-P 1200 – Serie auf Al oder Al-haltigen Substraten anzuwenden. Der Entwickler kann von unserem Unternehmen bezogen werden. Er enthält Metasilikat, das Al praktisch nicht angreift. 

Beispiele zur Anwendung von ma-P 1200 – Resisten in der Literatur:

[1]   W. Schrott, M. Svoboda, Z. Slouka, D. Šnita, Metal electrodes in plastic microfluidic systems, Microelectronic Engineering, 86 (2009), 1340-1342; 
doi: 10.1016/j.mee.2009.01.001
ma-P 1275 dient als Galvanik-Form für Au- und Cu-Strukturen in mikrofluidischen Systemen.

[2]   P.W. Leech, G.K. Reeves, A.S. Holland, Reactive ion etching of TiN, TiAlN, CrN and TiCN Films in CF4/O2 and CHF3/O2 Plasmas, Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc. 890 (2006), 0890-Y08-13.1-6;doi: 10.1557/PROC-0890-Y08-13
ma-P 1205 dient als Ätzmaske für das Plasma-Ätzen bei der Herstellung von Stempeln für die Imprintlithographie.

[3]   G. Kaltsas, A. Petropoulos, K. Tsougeni, D. N. Pagonis, T. Speliotis, E. Gogolides, A. G. Nassiopoulou, A novel microfabrication technology on organic substrates - Application to a thermal flow sensor, Journal of Physics: Conference Series 92 (2007) 012046; doi:10.1088/1742-6596/92/1/012046
ma-P 1275 wird in einem Lift-off-Prozess mit Pt-Abscheidung genutzt bei der Herstellung eines thermischen Fluss-Sensors.

[4]   J.-C. Galas, D. Bartolo, V. Studer, Active connectors for microfluidic drops on demand, New J. Phys. 11 (2009) 075027; 
doi:10.1088/1367-2630/11/7/075027
Nach dem Reflow dient ma-P 1275HV als Form für die Abformung mit PDMS bei der Herstellung aktiver mikrofluidischer Kupplungen.